RENFREWSHIRE council is set for a power struggle after the results of last week's election.

After the closing of the polls last Thursday night the results came back with Labour and SNP tied with the exact same number of councillors.

Both parties have 17 representatives out of the 40 councillors for the whole of Renfrewshire after the Single Transferable Vote system was used for the first time in local elections.

The rest of the seats are made up with four Liberal Democrat and two Conservative councillors In the Renfrew North ward councillors are Derek Mackay, SNP, Alexander Murrin, Labour and Bill Perrie, SNP.

Renfrew South and Gallowhill councillors are Mary Fee, Labour, Eddie Gray, Labour, Cathy McEwan, SNP.

Johnstone south, Elderslie and Howwood councillors are John Caldwell, Labour, John Hood, Labour, Tracie McGee, SNP, Iain McMillan Labour.

Johnstone North, Kilbarchan and Lochwinnoch councillors are David Arthur, SNP, Neil Bibby, Labour and Bruce McFee for SNP.

Houston, Crosslee and Linwood councillors are David Clews, conservative, Anne Hall, Labour and Allan Noon for SNP.

Bishopton, Bridge of Weir and Langbank councillors are Michael Holmes, Labour, Iain Langlands, Conservative, Carol Puthucheary, SNP.

Erskine and Inchinnan councillors are Jim Harte, Labour, James McQuade, SNP, and Iain Nicolson, SNP.

Paisley East and Ralston councillors are Brain Lawson, SNP, Celia Lawson, SNP, and Susan McDonald, Lib Dem and Jim Sharkey, Labour.

Paisley North West councillors are Mike Dillon, Lib Dem, Terry Kelly, Labour, Kenny McLaren, SNP and Tommy Williams, SNP.

Paisley South councillors are George Adam, SNP, Eddie Devine, Labour, Marie McGurk, Lib Dem and Jim Mitchell, SNP.

Paisley South West councillors are Lorraine Cameron, SNP, Jackie Green, Labour, Mark McMillan, Labour, and Eileen McCartin, Lib Dem.