THOUSANDS of young people got a taste of what it’s like to vote in an election as Renfrewshire’s new Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) were selected.

The area returned the highest average votes cast per constituency in Scotland as more than 6,000 young people exercised their right to vote - the second highest amount nationally and accounting for almost a fifth of all valid votes cast in the election.

Following almost three months of campaigning from candidates, five were elected in Renfrewshire.

The two Paisley members elected were Lewis Givan and Gary Murdoch, while the MSYP-elects in Renfrewshire North and West were Rebecca McAleney and Josh Kennedy.

Gavin Stewart was the elected candidate in Renfrewshire South.

The MSYP-elects will officially take up office at the Scottish Youth Parliament’s National Sitting in June.

Sandra Black, returning officer for Renfrewshire, said: “It’s fantastic to see the enthusiasm and desire these young people have. The next two years will be invaluable life experience for them as they look to pursue a possible future career path.”

A full list of the newly elected MSYPs can be found here

Read all the latest from Renfrewshire and beyond