The General Election will take place on Thursday, July 4 and voters will be asked who they think can tackle the issues of today.

The candidates that will appear on your ballot paper have been announced for Paisley and Renfrewshire.

This year will see a change in election boundaries following a review by the Boundary Commission.

Bridge of Weir and Houston will now be covered by the Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West constituency and information for their candidates can be found on the Inverclyde Council's website.

Their polling stations will remain the same.

There are six new polling places in Cardonald as part of the Paisley and Renfrewshire North constituency.

Who can I vote for?

Two MPs will be elected for Paisley and Renfrewshire which are divided into north and south.

See full details of your constituency here:

The Paisley and Renfrewshire North constituency covers Renfrew, Erskine, Langbank, Paisley North and Bishopton.

The confirmed candidates are:

  • Jen Bell, Scottish Greens
  • David McGonigle, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Gavin Andrew Stuart Newlands, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Andrew Scott, Reform UK
  • Alison Suzanne Watt Taylor, Scottish Labour Party
  • Grant Toghill, Scottish Liberal Democrats

The Paisley and Renfrewshire South constituency covers Johnstone, Paisley South, Howwood and Kilbarchan.

The confirmed candidates are:

  • Johanna Baxter, Scottish Labour Party
  • Athol Bond, Scottish Greens
  • Jacqueline Cameron, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Jack William George Clark, Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Alec Leishman, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Paul Mack. Independent
  • Jim McIlroy, Reform UK
  • Mark Niven Turnbull, Freedom Alliance

What are the deadlines for voting?

The deadline to register to vote is Tuesday, June 18.

Voter ID is required at polling stations for the first time. If you don’t have any valid ID the deadline to apply is Wednesday, June 26 at 5pm.

The last day you can apply for a postal vote is Wednesday, June 19 at 5pm.

Voting by Proxy applications close on Wednesday, June 26 at 5pm.

Find more information about candidates and polling stations here: