Scotland Women's boss Shelley Kerr has urged her side to embrace the challenge awaiting them in France after announcing the 23 players who will travel for the country's first ever World Cup.

Kerr's side take on England, Japan and Argentina this summer as they prepare to make their finals debut with the boss backing the squad she has painstakingly chosen to reach the knock-out stage.

Full-back Chloe Arthur, from Erskine, and Jo Love, from Paisley, both secured a place on the plane to Nice, where Scotland will kick-off their tournament against the Auld Enemy on June 9. 

Kerr said: "It's our first time at the World Cup but the target has already been set. We want to get out the group stages.

READ MORE: Chloe Arthur knows her dad would have been proud after sealing World Cup qualification 

"The most important thing though is that we embrace the occasion and have an enjoyable tournament. But it's more enjoyable if we win games and I have every confidence in this group of players that they can get us out of the group stages.

"It was so tough choosing the squad. Throughout the campaign and the last year and a half we've used over 35 players, so to narrow it down to 23 was really tough with some really tough decisions.

"But, you know, it's all about the 23 that have been selected for the first time the Scottish women's national team will go to a World Cup.

"It's an honour, a privilege, and their families should be really proud of their achievements.

"Throughout the campaign we have shown character in abundance and resilience. But the biggest thing is we have a talented group of players and that will stand us in good stead going to the World Cup."

Scotland Women's World Cup squad: Lee Alexander (Glasgow City), Jenna Fife (Hibernian), Shannon Lynn (Vittsjo GIK), Chloe Arthur (Birmingham), Jennifer Beattie (Manchester City), Rachel Corsie (Utah Royals), Nicola Docherty (Glasgow City), Sophie Howard (Reading), Hayley Lauder (Glasgow City), Joelle Murray (Hibernian), Kirsty Smith (Manchester United), Lizzie Arnot (Manchester United), Leanne Crichton (Glasgow City), Kim Little (Arsenal), Jo Love (Glasgow City), Christie Murray (Liverpool), Caroline Weir (Manchester City), Fiona Brown (FC Rosengard), Lana Clelland (Fiorentina) Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea), Claire Emslie (Manchester City), Lisa Evans (Arsenal), Jane Ross (West Ham).

Read all the latest from Gazette Sport