JOHNSTONE Burgh have recruited three new coaches to work with the club’s under-20 squad.

Kyle Reid, Ross Stewart and Michael Donnell will be in charge of Burgh’s rising stars in the Lowland Development League.

The trio make the move to Keanie Park after previously coaching at local amateur outfit Glenvale.

They will be guided by Burgh manager Jamie McKim, whose close links to Glenvale were already well established.

McKim said he has been keen to create a pathway from youth level to the first team since taking charge at Burgh.

He told Gazette Sport: “A proper set-up, with under-21s, under-19s and filtered all the way down, is something that I’ve wanted since I came in but there had never been the right opportunity. Now it’s at a stage where we’ve got time to invest in this and get it up and running properly.”

McKim expects to have an “open and honest” working relationship with Reid, Stewart and Donnell as they try to help Burgh’s young guns become first team regulars.

He said: “First and foremost, when I want to bring people in to work with us, I need to be able to trust them

“Everything has got to be transparent at the club.”

Burgh are also looking to strengthen their relationship with the under-19 squad that reached the semi-finals of the Scottish Cup last year and were competing for the league title before the season was brought to a premature end.

McKim said he is excited by the young players they have to offer.
He added: “We’re looking at building stronger ties with the Johnstone Burgh under-19s that are coming up this year with Derek Torrance, Billy Hillcoat and Glen Taylor.

“We’re going to have a stronger bond with them and they’re going to support the club in terms of producing players and support our first team and development squad with the view of their players feeding into the under-20s in years to come.”

Meanwhile, Burgh used social media to announce the club’s award winners for the 2019/20 campaign.

There was a three-way tie for Players’ Player of the Year, with Stuart Collins, Jason Hardie and Ricky McArthur sharing the prize.

The award for Management Player of the Year went to Gordon Meredith, while the Committee Player of the Year prize was won by Stuart Fyfe.

Read all the latest from Renfrewshire and beyond


Scotland is in lockdown. Shops are closing and newspaper sales are falling fast. We're not exaggerating when we say the future of local newspapers and the vital service we have provided for many years is under threat.

Please consider supporting The Gazette in whatever way you can - by paying just 90p for a copy of the newspaper when you're shopping for essential supplies for yourself and others or by subscribing to our e-edition here.